ryanandjocelyn

Chicago and Cleveland

Grumpy Pants

leave a comment »

… is the nickname Ryan gives me when I’m being a little bit of a handful. Being young, I generally bounce back from colds pretty quickly, but this one walloped me and was like, NUH-UH SISTER. Five whole days of being sick is way more than I can handle, especially when I’m this busy. One of my friends in medical school thinks I have “sinusitis” because of my symptoms:

– fever on day one
– insane sinus pressure
– ear aches + molar aches (from the sinuses)
– nasal drip
– cough

I feel like I’m underwater because of the way everything sounds, and I haven’t eaten much because of I can’t smell anything. Actually, I took some Mucinex D (sort of like Sudafed, I think) and got my sense of smell back for a few hours! I ended up eating half a tin of chocolate covered cookies, peanut butter out of the jar, a granola bar, a hard-boiled egg, and some fruit snacks. I’ll eat anything when I’m hungry at 2 AM.

Things I’ve been using for my insides.

L-R: Tylenol PM, some Chinese cough syrup my mom gave me (which, surprisingly, does not taste like death), Aleve, Advil, Mucinex-D, Vitamin Water, Airborne, Robitussin cough

And because colds make me look miserable and ugly, here are some things I’ve been using for my outsides.

L-R: some minty mud mask I picked up from the drugstore, Burt’s Bees lip balm with pomegranate oil (I find this to be more moisturizing than the regular kind), Clinique Moisture Surge (perfect for my face – my cheeks get extremely dry during the winter but I break out from anything too heavy), L’Oréal leave-in conditioner I picked up from my hairstylist (must have for long locks), L’Occitane body lotion, Crabtree & Evelyn Citron hand lotion.

Oh, and this is the comfy shirt that I literally wore for three days straight because I couldn’t be bothered to do laundry.

On the bright side, I have an appointment with Student Health tomorrow, so maybe I can score some antibiotics and not infect my entire law school. Healthy me = healthy you!

Written by ryanandjocelyn

February 22, 2011 at 8:18 PM

Leave a Reply

