ryanandjocelyn

Chicago and Cleveland

Weekend Recap

with 5 comments

This weekend was an absolute whirlwind of fun. I flew into Chicago instead of taking the bus to catch Ryan’s classmate’s surprise birthday party, and honestly, it was probably the best time I have had in a long time.

While Ryan was at work, I swung by Zara to return a pair of too-small pants. To my delight, Zara was having a sale! The construction of their pieces can sometimes be shoddy, but I like how they have modern cuts. It always feels like a treat to shop there because the Chicago location is the only one in my three cities (San Diego, Cleveland, Chicago). I ended up exchanging the pants for a vintage-fit cream sweater with slim gold stripes, a blouse-y black top, and a gray knit t-shirt. I paired the sweater with my black William Rast skinny jeans to create my Friday night outfit.

Here we are!

I also have photos of my Valentine’s Day (technically not, since we celebrated it on February 12th – product of being in a long-distance relationship) date night outfit. I promised some of you pictures on Twitter and sadly, did not deliver because I promptly fell asleep after we came home. While unpacking, I decided to put on my outfit again to share with you.

Dress: H&M
Necklace: Alexander McQueen
Tights: Calvin Klein
Boots: Target

I found this dress at H&M last week, so if you like it, I think you would still be able to find it in the store. It comes in black and nude, but since I already have a closet full of black dresses and the shoulder detail “disappeared” on the black dress, I opted for the nude one. I can see myself re-wearing this dress in the spring, and maybe in the summer.

To counterbalance the airiness of the dress, I paired it with my skull and fang necklace, sheer black tights, and black suede ankle boots with ruffle detail around the ankle. I can definitely justify splurging on jewelry, but I went way cheap on the boots because they don’t hold up well to winter weather. If you have to scrub salt stains off your shoes every time you wear them, you really shouldn’t be spending more than $30 on them.

We also took a bunch of pictures of our food from dinner, but nothing photographs well under low light, especially not with a camera phone. I really wish blogs came with a scratch and sniff button, because then I could at least share with you the truffle aroma from the fries.

Now that my magical weekend is over, it’s back to work! I finished a bunch of my reading for evidence on the bus, but I still have to work on my appellate practice oral argument, read some criminal procedure, do some research for my note… you get the idea. *grudgingly opens book bag*

Written by ryanandjocelyn

February 14, 2011 at 3:30 PM

Posted in Chicago, Jocelyn, Style

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I absolutely love that dress!

    katherineBee

    February 14, 2011 at 3:39 PM

  2. gorgeous dress. i didn’t think i’d like it with dark tights/boots, but you pull it off well. necklace was a nice touch to keep it from being too . . . frouffy? basically a nice edgy touch.

    Pauline

    February 14, 2011 at 3:48 PM

    • I’m generally against clothes that are too frilly, too. Winters here require tights with dresses and disallow open-toed shoes, so the tights/boots combo was partly out of functionality. Brrr!

      ryanandjocelyn

      February 14, 2011 at 5:26 PM

  3. that dress is amazing on you!

    j

    February 15, 2011 at 12:00 AM


Leave a Reply

