ryanandjocelyn

Chicago and Cleveland

Friendly Wager

leave a comment »

Sorry for the lack of updates! This past month, Ryan and I have been rather busy with school and family. Now that finals and the holiday rush are over, we are getting excited for bowl game season.

Before dating Ryan, I hardly ever watched college football. After baseball season comes to an end, I hibernate from sports until spring training rolls around. When I do watch college football, I usually only watch the Stanford-Cal game. Now that I have a great team to root for (go Bucks!), and thanks to Ryan for being patient enough to explain things to me (What is a triple-option? What is a spread offense? Why do they call it a “pick six”?), I am starting to get into it.

I still know next to nothing about college football, but I felt confident enough to pick winners and losers for the bowl games. We decided to wager a friendly bet: the person who picks the most correct winners gets dinner at the restaurant where we had our first date. Essentially, we both win because we both get dinner, and I have a sneaking suspicion that Ryan may not let me pay even if I lose. I’ve got my eye on the almond-stuffed dates wrapped in bacon and coated in brown sugar!

Here are our picks:

Surprisingly, we both chose many of the same teams! I made my choices based on what I had seen over this past season (we generally watch 2-3 games per Saturday), and not based on the odds. I get the feeling that I may lose because Ryan watches College Gameday so often, and the Air Force win is already a nail in the coffin.

What do you think? Do I still have a shot?

Written by ryanandjocelyn

December 28, 2010 at 9:58 PM

Leave a Reply

